Get to know me.

Get to know me.

Introduction

Hello all, my name is Ononiwu Maureen Chiamaka, or Chinwendu as my grandma calls me, or Babe Chinwendum, my guy name (lol).

I am currently an Open Telemetry intern at Outreachy. My interest lies within what I currently do at Outreachy, building tools used by developers! I am spooked that I get to do that as an Outreachy intern. I have always liked the idea of being the engineer's engineer.

My background

I am a chemical engineering soon-to-be new grad (already taken my final papers!). I started my tech journey in 2020, dabbling in data science and web development. Right now, I have settled as a Backend and DevOps engineer, I am using these as a means to understand how the computer works on a lower level.

Core values

The first thing that comes to mind as my core value is honesty. For an extended read on values that I uphold or put in a better way try to uphold check out Galatians 5:22 in the bible!

...love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!”

Outreachy - My motivation

I started contributing to open source this year because of a series of events, OSCAFEST, She Code Africa contributhon, GSoC, etc. all these programs piqued my interest about open source and also raised awareness about the various opportunities available in FOSS. Outreachy was one of my many attempts to get an open-source internship this year and the only successful one at that. I chose to apply to Outreachy so as to get dedicated mentorship as a budding open-source contributor. Most especially I like that there is a stipend attached to the program this would help support me financially as I upskill myself. I am also really excited that the program is geared towards ensuring interns have quality open-source contribution by the end of the program.

Conclusion

By the end of this internship, it would be a big win for me if my project gets accepted into the collector-core repo and a lot of people find the tool I create useful by validating with a star on GitHub. I also look forward to making more open-source contributions beyond this internship period.

See you in the next blog!